Current Steering Committee

President: Ranwa Hammamy, 2018

Rev. Ranwa is an ordained Unitarian Universalist minister and chaplain. She currently serves as a Chaplain with the Center for Elders' Independence in Oakland, CA. Raised Muslim, she identifies as a UU-Muslim, and is one of the co-editors for the in-process Muslim Voices in Unitarian Universalism text. Born in the US to Egyptian and Lebanese parents, Ranwa had a "Third Culture Kid" experience, living in-between, as both, and as neither Egyptian-Lebanese and American. One result of this lived experience is her dedication to ministering to the "both/and" - not only by identifying intersectional identities and movements, but also by reaching out to individuals whose multiple identities place them in the margins or outside of their communities. Within Unitarian Universalism, Ranwa has lived this commitment in her ministry to youth and young adult participants of the Multicultural Leadership School/Thrive. When not wearing her ministerial hat, Ranwa finds enjoyment and sustenance singing in a local choir, cuddling with her cats and partner, and dreaming up plans for her anti-Islamophobia baking and community ministry "Shugaria Law."

Co-Vice President: Sana Saeed, 2019

Currently, Sana is working on her third graduate degree as a Master of Divinity candidate at Harvard Divinity School (HDS) pursuing Unitarian Universalist ministry. Born in Manchester, UK she moved to the USA when she was sixteen. As a dual citizen, she grew up in a Pakistani home with the fortune of learning Urdu, Punjabi, as well as, English. Her upbringing inspired her love for traveling. Hence, she has traveled to thirty countries so far. She became interested in Unitarian Universalism, after being hired as a Director of Youth Ministry for the UU Church of Arlington, where she frequently was asked the question, “What is a Muslim doing working in a church?”. Since then she’s been immersed in UU and Muslim communities through various interfaith endeavors and hopes to become one of the handful of UU Muslim ministers’ part of the UU community today.

Outreach Coordinator: Ronnie Boyd, 2019

Ronnie Boyd is a Black queer feminist residing in Chicago, IL. By day, you can find her practicing her latte art at a local coffee shop. By night, she’s working to end police violence and to lift up Black-affirming educational institutions. Ronnie writes to feed her soul and to calm her mind. When not covered in coffee grinds and ink stains, you can find her rewatching Battlestar Galactica for the 45th time.

Interim Communications Co-Chair: B Tyler Coles

Tyler Coles (He/They) is a southern raised native of Roanoke, Virginia and the only child of Monica and Terry. Inspired by the revolutionary good news of Unitarian Universalism, Tyler is a movement chaplain with over five years experience focusing on the intersections of young adult spirituality and collective liberation. This work includes interfaith organizing, the facilitation of queer spirituality communities, and continuous efforts towards subverting white supremacy. Tyler is honored, and overjoyed, to join the DRUUMM Steering Committee as Interim Communications Co-Chair. 

GMC Liaison: Rev. Marisol Caballero, 2019

Rev. Marisol Caballero is a Tejana from Austin, lifelong Unitarian Universalist, and a graduate of Union Theological Seminary.  She currently serves the Unitarian Universalist Association's Faith Development Office as Faith Innovation Specialist.  Within UU circles, Marisol serves on the Diverse and Revolutionary UU Multicultural Ministries (DRUUMM) Executive Committee, most recently co-creating and organizing the Global Majorities Collective, a project that intends to create a distinct UU People of Color religio-cultural expression.  She has also co-founded the Central Texas UUs of Color group that meets monthly. Within her local community, Marisol is also a co-founder of W.M.E.N. (Women Ministers' Empowerment Network), an organization of progressive clergywomen of color in Central Texas, serves on the board of Just Texas, an interfaith reproductive justice advocacy group, and is an member of the Austin Justice Coalition. 

UUA Liaison: Rev. Elizabeth Nguyen, 2018 

Elizabeth Nguyen is a queer Vietnamese American, multiracial Midwesterner. She lives in Boston with her partner, some semi-alive plants, two adult housemates and one toddler. She channels the gifts of her father’s Buddhism and her mother’s Catholicism and believes in religion that serves liberation. She loves chaotic cooking projects, large bodies of water and creating community.

Co-Vice President: Rev. Theresa Soto, 2019

Secretary: Janell Hill, 2019

Treasurer: Rev. Darrick Jackson, 2018

GA Coordinators: Ben Gabel (2020) and Steven Ballesteros (2018)

Interim Communications Co-Chair: Rhiannon Smith

Past Steering Committee Members
Ellie Brown
James Coomes
Robette Dias
Cecelia Hayes
Walter LeFlore
Asha Philar
Joseph Santos-Lyons
Christopher D. Sims
Maria Cristina Vlassidis Burgoa
Marta I. Valentin
Jacqui C. Williams

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software